Graham Swift

£ 12.99 each
05( 0 )


Peter Widdowson

The present volume offers a close textual reading of Graham Swift’s seven novels to date including his latest, The Light of Day

Description: Graham Swift is among the foremost contemporary British writers, having published seven highly acclaimed novels which are widely read by students and general public alike. Waterland has become a modern classic, and Last Orders won the Booker Prize in 1996. Graham Swift offers a close textual reading of each novel, exploring their innovative formal strategies and identifying such recurrent themes as the presence of the past in the present, the blurring of distinctions between ‘history’ and ‘story’ fact and fiction, and the possibilities (or not) of redemption in a contemporary social and emotional wasteland. For the most part set in an urban, middle-class, claustrophobic and loveless ‘present’, and focused on usually fraught relationships between husbands and wives, parents and children, these recognizably ‘postmodern’ novels are seen here as symptomatic of contemporary Britain - a world where, in the shadow of nuclear holocaust, we approach ‘the End of History’ and only ‘telling stories’ seems to offer solace.


Author: Widdowson , Peter

List of the comments:
No comments have been posted yet.

Shopping Cart

The cart is empty

Switch Currencies

Recently Viewed Items

£ 12.99 each